About The Kohelet Prize

The Kohelet Prize is awarded annually to six educators or teams of educators who demonstrate extraordinary accomplishment in one of the six core elements of progressive Jewish education listed below. Winners receive a $36,000 unrestricted cash prize.

Kohelet Prize Judges for 2017-18

  • Jamie Feild Baker
  • Rina Hoffman
  • Rabbi Barry Kislowicz
  • Ben Kornell
  • Dr. Shmuel Mandelman
  • Dr. Rona Novick
  • Rabbi Gil Perl
  • Dr. Rebecca Rufo-Tepper

Entries must demonstrate a model that has already been implemented in the classroom. Winners will be selected by a panel of judges in the fields of education, psychology and neuroscience, identified by the Kohelet Foundation.  Entries will be judged on their innovation, replicability, and impact in all categories except for Risk Taking and Failure.  Risk Taking and Failure entries will be judged on degree of risk, depth of reflection, and impact of lessons learned.

Entries should include:

  • Impact on students
  • Teacher reflections
  • Examples of student work (when applicable).  Should be included for Differentiated Instruction, Critical / Creative Thinking, and Interdisciplinary Integration, possibly for Risk Taking and Failure and Real-World Learning, and probably not applicable in Physical Environment.

The Kohelet Prize for Interdisciplinary Integration

Awarded for excellence in integrating multiple disciplines in a single multi-week unit. Preference will be given to units which incorporate Judaic Studies and General Studies and involve multiple faculty members.

The Kohelet Prize for Real-World Learning

Awarded for the creation and implementation of exemplary learning experiences that help students break down the barriers between school and the world around them. Preference will be given to experiences that demonstrably heighten student motivation for learning and increase ability to apply knowledge in a real-world setting.

The Kohelet Prize for Learning Environment

Awarded for the creation of an innovative physical learning environment that promotes academic, social, emotional or spiritual growth. To qualify, the learning environment must be in use, by students, for a minimum of six months.

The Kohelet Prize for Differentiated Instruction

Awarded for the creation and implementation of innovative and effective means of differentiating instruction for a diverse student body within a single class environment. Preference will be given to methods and approaches that span more than one traditional grade level, can be used in multiple contexts for a variety of subject areas, and which demonstrate the utmost sensitivity to student self-confidence and self-image.

The Kohelet Prize for Development of Critical and / or Creative Thinking

Awarded for excellence in facilitating student success at the upper three echelons of Bloom’s Revised Taxonomy: Analysis, Evaluation, and Creation. Preference will be given to approaches that are scalable across multiple developmental levels and replicable across multiple disciplines.

The Kohelet Prize for Risk Taking and Failure

Awarded for a failed project or initiative that falls into any of the five categories above. Preference will be given to failures that resulted in lessons that are applicable and relevant to a broad spectrum of educators across subject areas and grade levels.

Congratulations to the 2017-18 Winners!

View the winners and all the other exciting entries on our database!

View the Database